Select grade below

WAFLW Coach of the Year won for a second time by East Fremantle’s Matt Templeton

Wednesday, July 3, 2024 - 10:05 AM

Coach of the Year!

East Fremantle WAFL Women’s senior coach, Matt Templeton, has been awarded the WAFLW Coach of the Year presented by Fremantle Football Club at the WAFL Women’s Awards on Monday 1 July at The Westin.

A highly experienced coach with a career spanning more than 18 years, this is the second time Matt has been named WAFLW Coach of the Year, having received the same honour in 2022 for steering the Sharks through an undefeated season.

Matt humbly acknowledged that the award was a recognition of the entire program.

“This award acknowledges the extensive contributions of our assistant coaches, Rogers Cup coach Troy Fish, team manager, strength and conditioning staff, and most importantly, the players and their dedication and willingness to execute everything that is put in front of them.”

East Fremantle midfielder Zippy Fish has had an incredible season and secured runner-up for the 2024 Dhara Kerr medal, while co-captain Ash Gomes finished in seventh place in the WAFL Women’s fairest and best award.

Rogers Cup player Cienna Leslie finished equal fifth in the Charmaine Rogers fairest and best, which recognises the top player in the under-18 competition.

Congratulations to all the award winners, players, coaching staff, and supporters for an outstanding 2024 WAFL Women’s season. The season will conclude with the WAFLW Grand Final at Pentanet Stadium this Sunday July 7 when the Sharks fight for a back-to-back premiership against the Tigers.


Grand Final tickets are available here.