2024 Futures Program Wrap

Tuesday, April 23, 2024 - 3:38 PM

The 2024 Futures season culminated last night with the awarding of the “Harry Taylor Medal” and Annual awards held at Brentwood-Booragoon Junior Football Club.

Players, coaches, staff along with parents gathered to celebrate a successful carnival by all. It was also fantastic to have several board members in attendance, and of course Harry Taylor being on hand to present the medal.

Talent Manager David Depane reflected on the goals and standards set when the group came together in November and how the group embraced what was set for them, and adapted to the game style that we were looking to implement. It was most pleasing to report big ticks for all components.

Coach James Depane addressed the crowd, thanking his staff and complimenting the playing group for their devotion to the program. James also took a moment to thank the parents for their efforts in transporting and supporting the boys throughout. James passion showed when he spoke about the group and there is no doubt he , his staff and the playing group were fully committed to each other throughout.

It was an honour to announce that 4 players; Joshua Nathan, Dylan Connelly, Cooper Ramsay and Kye Ormerod have been selected in WA State 16’s squad.

Harry Taylor passed on some wonderful words of wisdom to the playing group on how hard work and perseverance can help you achieve your ultimate goals in both a football sense and life in general.

The vote count for the 9-round season was conducted and concluded in a very tight count with Kye Ormerod jumping out to an early lead with some excellent form through the middle rounds of the carnival. The pack was chasing hard at his heels with Jack Annison enjoying some solid games before an unfortunate injury held him out of the final three games. Finlay Yeo also challenged hard with some consistent form seeing him poll votes consistently, whilst Joshua Nathan also produced some solid form to catch some votes. Drew Hughes was very consistent throughout and produced a game in the last round that captured the maximum votes from the coaching group. Kye managed to hold on to a slender lead throughout and finished with a 5-vote victory over the fast-finishing Drew Hughes


Kye was honoured to be presented the ‘Harry Taylor Medal’ as a reward for his very consistent carnival.


Award winners on the night were :


‘Harry Taylor Medal’ Futures F&B – Kye Ormerod

Runner Up F & B – Drew Hughes

Most Consistent – Jack Annison

Most Courageous – Finlay Yeo

Most Improved – Xavier Peca

Shark of The Year – Joshua Nathan


Top 10:


Kye Ormerod               54

Drew Hughes              40

Jack Annison               40

Finlay Yeo                    40

Joshua Nathan            39

Cooper McMeikan      32

Taj Kale                        31

Ben Gatti                     30

Dylan Connelly            21

Jake Cornelius             21       

Talent Manager David Depane closed the evening thanking the fantastic staff that had devoted their time and commitment over the last six months, along with the players for the way they embraced the program. He also acknowledged the support of our program sponsors and of course the parents who give up so much of their time to support their young men during the program. A special thanks went out the Brentwood-Booragoon Football Clubs for the use of their oval and facility over the course of the program.

Overall, a highly successful carnival was enjoyed by players and staff.  We now look forward to the boys progressing into our colts program and continuing their journey with the East Fremantle Football Club.