Two Sharks in initial WAFL State Squad

Tuesday, May 1, 2018 - 3:18 PM

Two Sharks have been named in the initial WAFL State Squad that will take on South Australia at Adelaide Oval this month.

Following strong individual starts to the year, Jonathon Marsh and Jayden Schofield were selected in the 33-man squad.

Marsh was the only Shark to play in last years historic win against Victoria in Melbourne. He was praised for his physical strength throughout the backline, in a performance that overwhelmed the Vic’s.

Schofield was unlucky to miss selection last year but has certainly made his case in 2018. The reigning Lynn Medallist is averaging 30 disposals this season and continues to provide a strong drive off half back.

Successful 2017 WAFL State Coach Michael Broadbridge, who led WA to an historic win over the VFL in Melbourne last year, will be at the helm again

WA hasn’t won a State Game in South Australia since a 14-point victory at Football Park in 1994.

The match will take place on Saturday May 12th at 11:40am (AWST) at Adelaide Oval. The State Game will be an opener for the Port Adelaide v Adelaide clash.


KIA WAFL State Squad

Claremont – Jye Bolton, Kane Mitchell.

East Fremantle – Jonathon Marsh, Jayden Schofield.

East Perth – Sharrod Wellingham.

Perth – Cody Leggett.

Peel Thunder – Blair Bell, Gerald Ugle.

South Fremantle – Ryan Cook, Ashton Hams, Brock Higgins, Blaine Johnson, Ben Saunders, Haiden Schloithe, Nick Suban.

Subiaco – Lachlan Delahunty, Aaron Heal, Kyal Horsley, Leigh Kitchin, Angus Litherland, Jordan Lockyer, Chris Phelan, Ben Sokol, Brad Stevenson, Rhys Waters.

Swan Districts – Cory Gault, Tony Notte, Rhys Palmer, Kirk Ugle.

West Perth – Aaron Black, Luke Meadows, Shane Nelson, Andrew Strijk.